Mine is a tried and true story – the fat girl growing up in this skinny world. Nothing I ever did was good enough for my mother. The teasing was ever-present and the heavier I became the worse the teasing and the more devastating the labels became.  Labels hurled at me in anger, disgust and loathing.  The most damaging, though, were the labels and insults hurled at me in “love”, by the people I love.  Along the way, I have battled (and will always battle) bipolar disorder and food addiction – each leaving their marks in incalculable ways – visible and invisible.

I covered the damage with a good deal of bravado and an awful lot of pretending so I would fit in and find some acceptance.  And I am REALLY good at covering! Most people have no idea that I have so little confidence.

The problem with all the covering is that now I don’t know who I am. I’m not sure I ever did.  I don’t know what I like – what my passions truly are – even what clothes I really WANT to wear!

I’m entering a new chapter in my life; I’ve decided to have weight loss surgery. In order to be successful, I have to figure out who I am – so that on the other side of this journey, I can focus on bringing to the world the “me” God planned!

So, this May – I’m focusing on being AUTHENTIC– and part of that focus is a journey into my soul to find out what authentic looks like on me!

Watch out, World! It’s a brand new day!!!

So Worth Loving has issued a challenge.  This May, what may you be?

Head on over to  mayyou.be and add your _______________ to the wall.  I did!

Then tweet about it using #MayYouBe; Pin it on your Pinterest board or share it on Facebook.  By sharing our stories, we take the shame out of the shadows, give others a place to feel safe, create community and inspire people to love themselves.

