Can anyone tell me why it is that some people feel the need to spontaneously comment on decisions others make?

I am frustrated right now with the people who know me – some fairly well – who roll their eyes and come up with 27 different reasons why I shouldn’t school Bryce at home.  I don’t even know what bugs me the most…that they don’t give me enough credit to know that this was a well-researched, well-thought out course of action, or that I care so much what they think at all.

I am comfortable with my choice.  I consulted everyone whose opinion I trusted – including Bryce.  I am not saying that it won’t be a challenge or even that I’ve thoroughly vetted every potential situation or issue.  It wouldn’t be possible.  At the end of the day, if it doesn’t work, we’ll try something else.

These comments are particularly unwelcome when they come less than a week before the start of the new venture.  I just pray that nobody says anything negative in front of Bryce.  I am afraid I would have to be rude.

